Amenities & Seating Availability

The Wooster Chapel offers a variety of amenities to suit the need of different events. The chapel features a fully operational electric Lowrey Genesis triple keyboard organ, climate controlled with air conditioning and heat.

The main seating area holds about 70 people, with a private sitting room away from main gathering room to the left of the square vestibule, as well as a unisex bathroom on the right.

The cost of rental is $250.00 for chapel usage. For more information or to request a reservation, please fill out our inquiry form below.

Rental Information

If you would like to receive more information regarding chapel amenities and chapel availability, please fill out the form below. One of our helpful staff will reach out to discuss options.

History of

The Wooster Chapel

Miss Mary McCellan Wooster, granddaughter of George A. Read, died in 1911, the last of the descendants of the family of Henry Wooster (original stockholder) to be buried in the cemetery. She left a bequest of $10,000 to be used for the erection of a chapel on the grounds of Fountain Hill Cemetery. After considerable time to research the project, the Board of Directors hired Isaac Allen, Jr. of Hartford, Connecticut to design the structure. The construction contract was awarded to Wise & Upton of Hartford, the same firm that had been engaged to build the Deep River High School. The Wooster Chapel is non-denominational, as it was important for Miss Wooster that the Chapel be all inclusive.

The Chapel is located to the left of the pillared main entrance, on a gently sloping elevation and gives the impression of being part of the natural ledge upon which it is built. The building is of Gothic architecture and is 50 feet in length and 30 feet in width. Underneath the main chapel at the rear is a receiving vault that is 14 feet by 19 feet. A lowering device in the assemble room allows caskets to be easily moved from the receiving vault to the main chapel. The chapel is heated by a hot air furnace.

Quarrying was once an important industry in Deep River with products being shipped to the major eastern cities of New York, Philadelphia, Boston and as far south as Louisiana.

More than 3000 stones making up the chapel were quarried and cut by Hugh Campbell of Deep River in the Platt quarry adjoining the cemetery grounds. The trimmings are of Ohio limestone with a slate roof and copper trimmings. The interior finish is most unique and suitable for a mortuary chapel. The walls are of tapestry brick, the panel oak ceiling, benches and other woodwork has an Old English finish. The electric light fixtures were specifically designed by Handel & Co. of Meriden Connecticut. The flooring throughout is tile. The main seating area holds about 70 people. At the left of the square vestibule is a small reception room and on the right is a bathroom.

The chapel was first opened to the public on Easter Sunday April 1915.